I hope the wind can say it for me,

when I no longer have the words.

A soft retreat into myself;

watching my footsteps fade upon the shore.

Give me a moment, before all things end,

to compose a letter of love and fear.

Let me sit upon the edge of land,

and let me watch the final sunrise.

If You mention my name just once,

Then take me swiftly to Your gardens,

for this world is naught but temptation

and fear.

A sick, cowardly place.

I fear Your wrath upon me,

I fear the day I run out of time,

and place, and space, and home

to fall to my knees and beg You

to forgive me,

to mention my name just once,

and to renew me, and replenish me,

and dispel all fear of dunya,

all want and greed,

from my heart.

 

Nesha Usmani

Leave a Reply

