Wudu Wisdom

“Will you not listen? Will you not listen? Will you not listen? Verily simplicity is a part of Imaan. Verily simplicity is a part of Imaan. Verily simplicity is a part of Imaan” ~RASULULLAH SAW~ Abu Dawood

Ever get struck by some wisdom by the grace of Allah during an activity?

Sometimes, this happens to me during wudu (Alhamdulillah).

But, in this case, the wisdom I received by Allah’s grace came from a mistake I made during wudu.

After washing one foot, I brought my other foot underneath the water stream and I realized even before I did that that I made a mistake. I didn’t turn the water off before switching to the other foot, and for a good 2 seconds or so the water ran freely, almost at full pressure, down the drain. 

OK, so maybe it’s not a big deal to most people but it got me thinking how luxuries like running water, which only 20% of the world has according to theworldwater.org, create the space for sin.

In Indonesia, I’d be making wudu by scooping water from a ladle and only using what I needed. On the flip-side, I’d mostly likely need to buy my drinking water. Here, I can drink from the same tap I make wudu from, and consequently waste about a quart of it in about 2 seconds if I’m not careful.

SubhanAllah, the little things that we’re accountable for when we have so much.

Leave a Reply

