Gratitude

Bismillahi Ar Rahmani Ar Rahim

The past few weeks have been rough and difficult to understand and contend with, and I’m not sure what the next few weeks will bring. Massive change, for sure, inshAllah. I’m, inshAllah, moving to Chicago to pursue my Master’s…and my emotions concerning that can pretty much boil down to sheer. utter. dread.

More on that later.

Sometimes, when you go through trials, Allah sends little whispers, little clues, little buzzing notes of advice that point you in the right direction. It can be something you see everyday that suddenly clicks with your Emaan and slaps you back to reality or it can be something you hear over and over, a word or a phrase that just seems to be following you around.

That’s what’s been happening to me, subhanAllah. And the word I’ve been hearing over and over and over again: gratitude.

Shukr.

I can’t recall every instance with clarity but I do know this week it was staring me in the face in bright, glowing-green, neon letters, metaphorically speaking.

I keep hearing it! Keep seeing it!! SubhanAllah. On one of my favorite websites (Quranweekly.com), Nouman Ali Khan talks about the 13th Juz of the Quran in his Quranic Gems series. It was alllllll about shukr. Gratitude. Patience.

Telling Allah THANK YOU.

Telling people THANK YOU.

Being grateful for everything you’ve been given by Allah (SWT).

And last night, my mother called me into the living room, sat me down, and told me about Surah Luqman.

SubhanAllah.

And she told me the wisdom and advice from that Surah.

  • Be Grateful to Allah
  • Do not associate partners with Allah
  • Be grateful to your parents
  • Establish prayer
  • Enjoin right
  • Forbid wrong
  • Do not act in contempt with other people
  • Do not live exultantly (luxuriously, arrogantly)
  • “Be moderate in your pace”
  • Lower your voice

(Surah Luqman 31: 13-19)

Now, my mother’s version was more summarized, and she had us listen and repeat the noble advice back to her (yes, at 24 yrs old I still am my mother’s student, May Allah reward her and have mercy on her, Ameen).

And SubhanAllah, I repeated everything but two or three things…

and those are the things I need to work on the most.

Allahu Akbar.

For my own sake I won’t mention them all but the biggest one is gratitude.

Some part of me just…doesn’t know how.

But then I found this:

http://productivemuslim.com/18-ways-to-achieve-greatness-through-gratefulness/

And, ALHAMDULILLAH, it has changed the way I think about this. I guess, part of me, authubillah, feels very insignificant. What is my little tiny puny ‘thank you’ to Allah, Lord of the Worlds, Master of the Day of Judgement, The One and Only? How does it even factor in?? My sins are too much…etc etc etc

I know this is shaitan. I know this is the wrong way to think. SubhanAllah…where is my faith in this matter?

Alhamdulillah, I feel myself starting to think differently. But it’s scary because I feel a lot of emptiness where gratitude should have been. SubhanAllah, I really think that this is what has been missing from my life. I’m just not grateful enough. Maybe, I just don’t know how to be. And if that’s true, then was I even humble before this? How can you be humble without having gratitude…?

You can’t, subhanAllah.

Humility, Gratitude, Piety, Honesty, Modesty, Emaan… all of these attributes are essential and crucial for a Muslim to be successful. And Allah is Ar Rahmaan. The Most Compassionate. Al Gafur. The Forgiver. Al-Afuww. The Pardoner. My biggest issue is doubting whether or not Allah will take up my cause. Whether Allah will help me.

But He already has.

So many times.

Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah. Ya Allah, don’t leave me. Correct my affairs for me and help me to be more grateful towards You. Ya Allah, help us all to worship You better. Ameen.

if you haven’t seen the video (A Life Changing Reminder) I posted concerning Al-Afuww then I urge you to watch it.

Leave a Reply

