More News, Yo.

Assalamu Alaikum

Bismillahi Ar Rahmani Ar Rahim.

I am officially a member of the Red Cross Disaster Action Team, Alhamdulillah!! This has been in the works since October of last year, but I haven’t had time to attend the orientation until today.

I’m super excited because I get to take CPR/First Aid/AED certification classes, as well as a whole list of other classes that will help learn how to help and handle disaster situations, such as setting up shelters talking to clients, learning about blood pathogens, etc.

And I’ve also signed up to be on-call for national emergencies. So, I have the opportunity to go and help people affected by hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, and other disasters on a national level.

It’s so exciting. I’m a bit nervous though because I didn’t think we’d be going INTO homes affected by disasters (by this I mean, fires, explosions, natural disasters) but it seems that I will be doing a little of that.

I’m more excited than nervous, actually, because I want to be able to learn how to handle these situations, and it’s important to me to break through my comfort zone a little so, if one day, I’m faced with a situation like this in my life, I will know how to handle it, who to call, how to do or not to do certain things.

Most important of all, this sort of work is important to me as a Muslim. I don’t want to go about my life ignorant of people that need help, because in the end, I’m accountable for what I did in my life, and also for what I didn’t do.

I have time right now, alhamdulillah. I may not have so much time in the future to do these things. I’m looking forward to becoming closer to Allah through important volunteer work.  I’m not getting paid. There’s really nothing in it for me except Allah’s judgement on my actions.

So, I want to go into this with a clear heart and mind. Clear intentions.

Allah, I’m doing this for You. Bismillahi Ar Rahmani Ar Rahim.

Allahu Allahu Rabbee laa ushriku bihi shay’an (Allah, Allah is my Lord. I associate nothing with Him)

InshAllah my efforts in this will open the door to larger opportunities to gain Allah’s pleasure and reward.

Once I start going on calls, unfortunately I’m bound by law to keep everything I see and do and hear confidential. So I won’t be blogging about my experiences, or at least not in detail.

Oh and PS…all of this is volunteer work.

I encourage you to go out and volunteer in your communities as well!

Nesha

3 thoughts on “More News, Yo.

Leave a Reply

