At 24

Bismilliahi Ar Rahmani Ar Rahim.

Assalamu Alaikum

At 24 years, my heart has beat, according to my last calculation, over 988,303,680 times since my birth. The number is higher than this, since…you know…it’s still beating as I type this, alhamdulillah.

1 billion times.

Allah has brought me to my 24th year, through 1 billion heartbeats. SubhanAllah.

(insert “if I had a dollar for every time my heart beat” joke here)

It’s okay, you can laugh!

So, a billion beats through every moment of sadness, elation, guilt, happiness, terror, depression, hope, fury, dread, awe, humiliation, suspicion, curiosity, worry, frustration, pain, anguish, regret, and love.

Beating through all of my thoughts and dreams. While I slept, ate, worked, cried, prayed, studied, and laughed, my heart has never stopped, alhamdulillah. 

Recently, very recently, in the dark moments when I thought my heart would surely stop, could not take anymore pain or heartache. Could not suffer one more loss…it kept going. Pushing me along in my life with only the will of Allah to guide it.

A billion heartbeats, averaging 78 per minute.

Then which of the blessings will you deny? (Qur’an 55:13)

When my heart stops, my chance for repentance goes with it.

As long as it beats, every second of every minute of every hour of every day of every week of every month of every year…it’s another gift from Allah, another chance, another opportunity to turn to Allah and seek refuge and guidance and repentance in Him.

Don’t despair. If you’re alive, take advantage of it.

Rasulullah (SAW) is reported to have said:

“Take advantage of 5 things before 5 things overcome you:
Take advantage of your youth before your old age.
Take advantage of your health before your sickness.
Take advantage of of your life before your death.
Take advantage of your wealth before your poverty, and
Take advantage of your free time before becoming preoccupied.

[Narrated by al-Haakim on the authority of Ibn Abbaas]

Don’t lose sight of what Allah has given you. Everything within you and around you is there because of Allah’s will; use everything to get close to Allah!

May Allah increase us in Ilm and give us steadfastness and Ihsaan. May Allah correct our affairs for us and forgive our sins, and keep our hearts beating long enough to earn His pleasure and a home near Him in Jannah . Ameen.

Sources:

http://audio-islam.com/2012/10/02/take-care-of-five-things-before-five-things-umar-bryant-mp3en/

One thought on “At 24

Leave a Reply

