Filipino Desserts: Date, Walnut, and Coconut Bar

Filipino Desserts: Date, Walnut, and Coconut Bar

Later tonight the house will, inshAllah, be flooded with guests for dinner. Among our guests will be a local Sheikh and his family who are all Filipino-American, He has made a huge difference in our community, mashAllah, and will continue to do so, inshAllah. So, in his and his family’s honor, I whipped up this irresistible treat.

I made this dessert a few years back before the Sheikh moved to town. It’s absolutely AMAZING.
I found the recipe on thepioneerwoman.com, who featured it from a user named “Ivoryhut” (to whom I owe my eternal gratitude), so it’s definitely not MY recipe, but I did tweak it. The original recipe had pecans and pitted dates. I prefer medjool dates over pitted dates, but since we had neither, I used ground dates which are used in Arabic baking recipes. I didn’t have any pecans, so I opted for same flaked, sweetened coconut. I also used more brown sugar, less white sugar, and decreased the sugar content overall, because I don’t really like overly-sweet desserts, and I try to avoid white sugar as much as possible.

Now, this recipe is NOT healthy. Ok? I repeat. NOT HEALTHY!!!! It has three sticks of pure butter, over a cup of sugar, glutenous white flour, 4 rotund eggs. Not to mention the fatty savoriness of walnuts, the rich sweetness of dates, and the earthy, deep sweetness of coconut.

See what I mean? Avoiding it is fruitless. You simply must eat it. There’s no way around this one, folks.

Here’s the link for the original recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/12/the-bar/

If you want MY version of it…increase the brown sugar to one cup and decrease the white sugar to less than 1/4 cup and add 1/2 cup to 1 cup of flaked, sweetened coconut. Instead of greasing the pan, cover the pan with parchment paper, and just lift the cake straight out when it’s cooled, and then cut into bars.

The dessert is originally called “Food for the Gods”, but being Muslim, I’ve got problems with that (deal with it!). So I’ll stick with Ivoryhut’s name “The Bar”.
And the bar…is…

Sigh.

Just make it.

I’m also wondering how this would taste if I decreased the butter and added some coconut milk. If any of you are curious enough to try it, let me know how it turns out!

Nesha

2 thoughts on “Filipino Desserts: Date, Walnut, and Coconut Bar

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Definitely not a healthy recipe, though I do like to say it’s made it all-natural ingredients to alleviate some of the guilt. 🙂 I love your addition of coconut, and I think I’ll try that next time. Thanks again!

    • Omg! What an honor! Im so glad you think the coconut was a nice addition. Your recipe gets raved over by all of my family and friends!! Seriously thank you so much!! Let me know how you like that coconut!

Leave a Reply

