Food is Beautiful

Food is Beautiful

SubhanAllah, Alhamdulillah, Allahu Akbar.

Today, while perusing through the aisles of my local Costco with my little brother, I was overwhelmed by the sheer amount of products, brands, produce, merchandise….everything contained within the four walls of this massive store. How MUCH do we have? How MUCH do we really NEED?

It’s really shocking to me how easily we forget the kind of position we are in. We walk out of our houses, into our cars, drive ourselves to stores, and buy the food we can afford.
I am in awe of the statistics involved in being one of the only people on the face of the earth who are able to do this on a daily or weekly basis.
How many people don’t have access to clean water? How many people are unemployed, homeless, hopeless? How many people can’t afford bread?
How has Allah favored us above much of His creation?
How little do we show our appreciation?
Tomorrow night, we’re having another dinner party at my house, inshAllah. At some point tonight, I’ll be busying myself in the kitchen making desserts for my fellow brothers and sisters in Islam, inshAllah. It moves me to realize how blessed we are to have what we have, and to be able to do what we do everyday. It could have easily been so different.
It’s not everyday that I’m caught off-guard by the blessings of Allah, inshAllah it happens a lot more. I find myself getting so comfortable with my little luxuries. How I can just pop into my kitchen and whip up a cake with the best appliances available, Alhamdulillah. It wasn’t so long ago that I was in Indonesia, and baking a cake in a tropical, rural village…well…that wasn’t so easy! I got stung in the face by a gigantic tropical hornet during the process.
And the quality of the ingredients was noooo where near what I can get myself in the states.
So, subhanAllah, alhamdulillah.
The Prophet (saw) said that the “house in which there is vinegar is not devoid of condiments.” (Tirmidhi).
SubhanAllah, just by the jug of vinegar that sits in my pantry, my meals are complete.
SubhanAllah!
Never forget how much we are given, and everything we do, write, say, eat is for the sake of Allah and by the Grace of Allah.

Leave a Reply

