Rimes

Your words are sweeter

without the wine of sympathy

I need no compliment,

To give you my smile.

Do not think me unjust

for refusing your verbal caress,

I only wish to keep my feet on the ground,

Because I have been there,

swept away into the clouds

By a strong, sweet hero

Only to be dropped and shattered

like a statue of glass,

onto the Earth below.

So, lead me, slowly

into your arms.

And let words be few,

and actions true.

And if you fear an end,

Set me on my feet,

And do not pretend.

Nesha Usmani

2 thoughts on “Rimes

Leave a Reply

