In Case We Don’t Know Each Other…

List-Style because I can’t be bovvered (…and want to have a British accent)

My name is Nesha Usmani.

I am twenty-three years old.

I am Pakistani-American.

I am Muslim.

I love writing poetry, painting, baking, sketching, blogging, reading, and taking photos.

Favorite books: Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, all poetry.

I graduated from The Ohio State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in English (British Literature) and a minor in Cultural Anthropology.

I thank God for what I have everyday, Alhamdulillah.

When I was younger, I used to dream of traveling and helping people as a volunteer. I’ve always wanted to get out and go on an adventure, and experience new and wonderful things. I might have romanticized it a little bit.

 Exactly one month ago I left my friends and family behind to begin my volunteer experience.It’s been very difficult at times, but worth it.  Currently, I’m in a small mountain village in Indonesia. I teach English to elementary school kids and I’m loving every minute.

I arrived exactly 1 month ago and I will be leaving in about 5 months, and I really hope every month will be more amazing than the last.

InshAllah, please read my previous posts and don’t be shy!!! COMMENT!  🙂

If you’re American and you’d like the same opportunity, please visit united-planet.org. If you’re not American, please visit or Google your country’s ICYE branch (International Cultural Youth Exchange). Oh, there really isn’t an age limit. Everyone is young at heart!

6 thoughts on “In Case We Don’t Know Each Other…

  1. Indonesia, i love my country very very beautiful, a lot of culture, thank for your attention in my school. Kamu Hebat, semoga kita jadi sahabat dunia akhirat

Leave a Reply

