What’s been happening

Bismillahi-Ar-Rahman-ir-Rahim

 

I haven’t posted in MONTHS. There’s a reason(s).

I graduated Cum Laude  with a Bachelor’s in English (British Literature) and a minor in Cultural Anthropology (Alhamdulillah).

I applied to and was accepted to a volunteer program by United Planet, a non-profit organization. Through this I will be going to Indonesia for 6 months to teach English at a school in Central Java! (Alhamdulillah) I amm SO EXCITED. It’s so expensive, though, and I pray that Allah (God) blesses my parents for letting me do this, Alhamdulillah. InshAllah I will be leaving January 13….yikes! Not much time. Too much to do!

I also got my US citizenship and finally have my US Passport!!! So happy, Alhamdulillah. I only hope that I can make a difference where I’m going!!!

I also retook the GRE and didn’t do as well as I thought I would. It was the revised exam and I just…ugh….I can get good grades alhamdulillah but i am NOT  a good standardized test taker. Oh well, Alhamdulillah. God gives us strengths as well as weaknesses for us to learn from. I don’t want to take it again, but inshAllah i’m going to work harder on the things I commit myself to.

I’ve also been trying and failing and trying again to get into shape. It’s so tough. Especially since I bake and cook A LOT and love every second of it.

I’m trying to get the hang of writing blogs and I’m wanting to get back into writing in general, too. I used to do it so much before I got a laptop and flitted off to college (interesting…). Darn you, Netflix, Facebook, Youtube, Hulu, Tumblr, Stumbleupon…….I still love you but I want my good habits back.

I have grad school to worry about. Later today I’m seeing a career counselor, inshAllah, with the intention of figuring out my life. I seriously don’t know what I want to Master in. I love Anthropology….I also love literature, non-profits, traveling, writing…I need to find a creative way to combine all five of these things. I’m also just plain scared of applications. I absolutely abhor the process. Icky.

I’m concerned, also, about my professors, whom I respect and admire, and who have agreed to write me letters of rec. I don’t want them to forget about me. I guess we’ll see inshAllah what happens.

 

Keep me in your prayers and du’as, inshAllah.

May God protect us and keep us all happy, safe, and successful in our well-intended goals, Ameen.

Leave a Reply

