Adventure 1: I took myself out on a $20 date

A word: I don’t drink. Ever. Not even a glass of champagne. Not even cooking sherry. Not even Port Wine Reduction over my risotto. So, I don’t really appreciate St. Patrick’s Day. I’m not sure how St. Patrick, whoever he is, would feel about how it is celebrated (a joke). Also, I love the color green, but not on a raving drunk person. I am who I am! Take it or leave it 😉

Yesterday, aside from it being March 17th, as in St. Patty’s day, as in Drink-Your-Ass-Off-Act-Like-A-Fool-Make-Your-Parents-Regret-Having-You Day, while feeling the relief of having reached the end of my final exams and papers, I decided to go on an adventure. What happened was more or less a date with myself and for myself. It was about 6pm or so and I was laying in bed watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Yeah yeah. I know. I’m a little old for that sort of thing, but you know what? I had never seen an episode before and it’s like a cheese-fest of wholesome sexy vampire fun. I’m not sure how it’s possible to be sexy and wholesome at the same time. But, ya know, it’s whatever. It’s better than Twilight (oh, yeah, I despise Twilight).

Anyway, I braved the public bus, something I had avoided for so long but now kind of cherish. Keep in mind there were some mad hatters out since it was St. Patrick’s Day. I got on the bus, flashed my ID at the driver, stumbled down the tiny aisle and found a window seat. Not two minutes in, I overheard a rather loud conversation from the front of the bus. A student of about 21 years was clutching boxes of pizza and bread sticks to his chest and was wasted as all get out. The jerks across the aisle from him were loudly making fun of his inebriated state and kept inquiring as to when he was going to eat the pizza or if he was ever going to. And one choice person, adorned with a green cat-in-the-hat hat, kept pulling the wire and requesting random stops, none of which he took.

My condition: annoyed and nervous. I don’t like drunk people. I don’t like drunk people making fun of other drunk people. And I don’t like jerks who mess with public bus wires.

I sat with my breath somewhat held and waited a little less than patiently for my stop, which, by the way, I had no idea where it was going to be (it’s an adventure!).

My first stop turned out to be near this small store(below). It was a beautiful store; filled with nik naks from Turkey and Egypt.

I didn’t buy anything as the products were on the pricey side, but they were so so beautiful. From lavishly decorated boots, good luck and evil-eye charms, bracelets, earrings, rugs, and scarves to glass elephants and decorated bowls, I was a little overwhelmed.

My next stop was an ice-cream hot-spot.

I’m not going to embarrass myself and tell you what I purchased.  Just that you’ll wish you had some and will probably hate me. It is the best ice-cream in the world. The best.

While I enjoyed the ice cream I took some pretty interesting pictures of the city at night:

It was beautiful! And relaxing. But, after a while, I felt like getting some real food. And by real food I mean tea and crumpet-like-food. Because ice-cream just didn’t satisfy on a beautiful night like this.

So I walked here

And drank Honey Chrysanthemum Tea (below). It was basically a hot glass teapot filled with chrysanthemum flowers, golden raisins, and honey. It was amazing.

And I drank it all.

I also had something called honey cheese crostini. And it was so divine, I forgot to take pictures.

Just kidding!

Basically, it was thinly sliced crusty french bread with a generous smear of cream cheese and goat cheese, topped with thatgreenstuff, cranberries, and slivers of almonds. It was refreshing and spicy. It was amazing and I want it for my birthday.

The rest of the time I spent by walking around streets, taking pictures of graffiti and well-lit arches over not-so-well lit streets.

All in all, it was a very interesting night. Especially when a rather fancy guy screamed “Mozeltov!” in my ear, and then kept walking saying, “What, she’s not Jewish? Well, she should be.”

I don’t know why.

I’ll see you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

